Posted by: Sahasi | June 25, 2008

Dune Bashing

Couple of years ago I was visiting UAE and took the opportuity to participate in a day long desert drive, dune bashing and belly dancing package tour. That was in 2005, my first time outside India and in the real desert. Though I had visited Deserts in Rajasthan, it was different to be in a developed desert where even the restrooms and toilets were air-conditioned and where wild camels roamed around.

Dune bashing is also referred to as “White water rafting of desert” because it gives so much thrill and adrenalin rush to participants. I rode a buggy as well, up and down sand dunes rising dust storms wherever I went.

Riding a buggy in the desert

Then the real dune bashing was done seated inside the plush comfort of a monstrous Toyota Landcruiser driven by a Lebanese driver who expertly manouvered the SUV up and down sand dunes. There were instances were my heart leapt to my mouth and I felt certain that our vehicle would tumble like a match box down the high unsteady sand dunes in the middle of nowhere. After a few years I remember those memories with a rush of excitment whenever I look at the pictures.

Neogitating dunes, the land cruisers are really good at it
Convoys of land cruisers approaching a big dune

Of course I enjoyed watching the Belly dancer gyrating to the beat of desert music. Few other tourists enjoyed dancing with her while I contented myself photographing them.

Enjoying the performance of Belly Dancer and an inebrieted guest

Responses

  1. Hello. Very interesting site and you lead a very interesting discussion. There is a nice atmosphere here and I’m sure I will often read your posts.
    From time to time I will also try to write something interesting.

  2. I really like when people are expressing their opinion and thought. So I like the way you are writing

  3. Don’t Pay for the latest trading software, I finally found a great website where you can get it for free!.

  4. Hello,

    visits my coooool website – crimenetwork.biz.
    killu.crimenetwork.biz
    http://crimenetwork.biz
    very coooool!

    yo yo, my name is killu, and i have no skills. my server i let manage by 2×4, but i tell everybody that i am pro.
    my server is maximum ddos protected!!!!

    you do not must abuse my hoster & domainregistrar, both are bulletprooooooooof man.
    visit my site or go DIE, motherfucke

    k!llu – gangsternetwork – your master – bigest botnet

  5. Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday.

  6. Hey, great blog…but I don’t understand how to add your site in my rss reader. Can you Help me, please 🙂

  7. Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read.. 🙂

    -Bill-Bartmann

  8. Does FAP Turbo really work?

    Yes, it does! It has made me lots of money. I read a FAP Turbo review which talked about how great this product really is, and since I bought it, I have earned $30,000…

    FAP Turbo Review

  9. Questions and answers about 1973 oldsmobile 442 and Intrigue oldsmobile recall.

  10. dune bashing is the best


Leave a Reply

Categories

