Posted by: Sahasi | June 24, 2008

Missing my motorcycle

While in India I was an avid biker and passionate about my two wheeled toy. It has been over 8 months since I rode a motorcycle and I really feel miserable without the feel of riding a bike. I just look at some of my old biking pictures and feel nostalgic and miss my footloose and fancyfree days in India when I would pack up and take off at will to explore exotic destinations in the backcountry. This is not so easy in the US because first I don’t have a motorcycle license and second even if I had one I wouldn’t be able to afford a motorcycle here. There are several costs associated with the ownership of a motorcycle. Insurance, maintenance,

Fuel expenses though are cheaper while compared to India where gas retails at $6 per gallon but then the bikes are big (min 250 cc) and return only about 45 miles per gallon while my TVS Apache (150 cc) in India returns approximately 120 miles per gallon. I can’t help but miss my bikes and the joy and freedom they gave me while I was in India. Here are some pictures of me on bikes in India.

Flanked by Enfields while on a visit to the Himalayas
At Jalori Pass, Himachal Pradesh on a tour on Enfield Bullets
On Enfield Across Himalayas
Across the Himalayas on Enfield Bullets

Leave a Reply

Categories

